Rejection 2 – Haggling against getting a traffic violation ticket

Charles Darwin quote

“A sunny disposition is worth more than fortune. Young people should know that it can be cultivated; that the mind like the body can be moved from the shade into sunshine.” -Andrew Carnegie

My favorite mother-in-law (who I love so much!) instructed us to be at the airport by 7am for a 10am flight. My daughter is going with her 500 kms south of Manila for the summer. We were there by 7, my gorgeous wife ringed her – “Mom we are here”. My mother-in-law answered back – “We are still at home”. (insert appropriate movie theme music here) 🙂

Since I am a cheap skate and want to save on a few parking bucks, I waited on the McDonald’s branch across the airport to park. Dang! The place is packed… No parking, so we went to a nearby gasoline station. And jeez – the gasoline station itself also charges for parking. WTF, parking space is worth gold at that side of the metro across the airport! Even if you bought something in the station’s convenience store, if you spend more than 30 minutes there – you pay up for P45/hour. And since we would be waiting up on my mother and sister-in-law (who is going with them on the trip) for about 2 hours more. I ain’t spending a hundred bucks for parking early in the morning just yet.

So I went back to McDonald’s just to check if a space opened up – no luck. So I drive inside the Resort’s World compound to check up on some freebie parking 🙂

No freebie parking in here either. So as we were driving around scrounging for a free spot, I turned right on a certain street (right across the LBC office/Kenny Roger’s restaurant) – and boom! A traffic enforcer signaled – I would be apprehended 😦

The haggling incident, would I get a ticket or not? That would be the subject of my next post.

Leave a Reply

