The Not So Happy Path

You want people to experience the failure so they can reflect on it, and improve their performance the next time around.*

I once heard a wise man say that there are three ways to learn –
1. You learn from your mistakes
2. You learn from the mistakes of people that you know
3. You learn from the mistakes of other people. Which you get exposed to through books, podcasts, and in-person lectures

I often say in entrepreneurship seminars that the wisest way to learn are the last two. And 90% of the audience agree.

But the wisest way is not always the most effective – experiencing the failure ourselves could be the best thing that ever happened to us.

No wonder there are countless others saying they are graduates of The School of Hard Knocks.

The first time I heard this – I say to myself, “Now that is foolish” But as I could not sleep after hearing it, I am at my laptop typing this at one in the morning.

And as I reflect on the hats that I wear in my life, I realized that it is true.

My immature mindset and approach to marriage made my wife leave. She did came running back but that is another story 🙂

At 24 years young I forgot to apply the lesson I learned in school when I was 8 years old – That what every women wants is to have their way with men.

And I saw this sign at Tiendesitas 10 years too late.

kaliwete

Reflecting now, that failure made me better. The sting of going home in an empty house for three years made me say to myself that “next time, I would be a better man.”

As the late great Zig Ziglar said, “Many marriages would be better if the husband and wife understood that they are on the same side.

Now we understand.

Our marriage has not been a straight line of perfection after that. But we both came winners after that experience.

The next time you find yourself in the not so happy path, or maybe, you are now in the not so happy path 😦

If you are, I want you to sit back on your chair… Take a deep breath, and welcome failure as a good friend – He could be here to give you one very timely advice 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “The Not So Happy Path

Leave a Reply

