Mornings be like

morningsbelike

6:00am, on a cool December morning. I am at Taal Vista Hotel in breezy Tagaytay, overlooking the ridge. Taal Lake, the volcano, and sunrise is looming on the horizon.

Typical morning. Wake up. Say your prayers. Do your affirmations. Reflect. A wise man once told me that these (and mobile data) are one of the elusive keys to happiness.

Not that elusive at all – you can do it every day. But every day people wake up and unhappily drag themselves to work. (Guilty too!)

From the ledge I transferred to a nearby bench. If I do not hold my laptop the wind would blow it away.

The clouds are now giving way to a glorious sunrise. The rays blind my eyes, and I shift my gaze to the Ferris Wheel at Sky Ranch.

My nose twitch, I took a sip of my hot brewed coffee. And I type away.

In a few hours 7.4 billion people around the world would celebrate the New Year. One mass of land celebrating one hour after the other. Champagne popping, panties dropping (stole the latter line from a rap artist).

Resolutions are in vogue. Goals are set with dreams wanting to be realized.

Clouds, fog, whatever you call it, is about to hover over me. The person in a white shirt and orange walking shorts who is taking pictures of the sunrise tries to get away. But the clouds eventually envelope him. I sit still (payakap nga Lord!)

Humans are creatures of habit. A new year signifies new hope. Of new habits wanting to be systematized.

Our habits are the tools for us to engineer our happiness. We first make our habits, and then our habits make us.

Charles Dickens said “I never could have done what I have done without the habits of punctuality, order, and diligence, without the determination to concentrate myself on one subject at a time.”

Robert Kiyosaki, who co-authored a couple of books with President-elect Donald Trump coined the acronym FOCUS.

F – Follow
O – One
C – Course
U – Until
S – Successful

Hope you get to pick that one course for yourself for the new year.

 

Leave a Reply

